Newmarket's Unofficial Municipal Election Results

Newmarket's Unofficial Municipal Election Results
Newmarket, Ontario, October 24, 2022 - The unofficial results for the 2022 Town of Newmarket Municipal Election are as follows:
Office Candidates Total Votes
Mayor John Taylor  Acclaimed*
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Gordon Prentice 5,455
Tom Vegh 9,396
Ward 1 Councillor Mark Holmes 794
Grace Simon 1,899
Ward 2 Councillor Brian Andrews 841
Hunter Murchison-Doggart 191
Victor Woodhouse 1,211
Ward 3 Councillor Jane Twinney Acclaimed*
Ward 4 Councillor Chris Dupee 261
Trevor Morrison 1,222
Grant Waddell 627
Ward 5 Councillor Bob Kwapis Acclaimed*
Ward 6 Councillor Kelly Broome 1,726
Lukas Fuina 733
Ward 7 Councillor Christina Bisanz 1,687
Nadia Hansen 527
York Region District School Board Trustee Pamela McCarthy 4,414
Jessica Neto 1,316
Shameela Shakeel 4,034
Donald J. Smith 1,622
York Catholic District School Board Trustee**
Donnie Aloisi 137
Peter Fracassi 728
Theresa McNicol 1,601
Conseil scolaire Viamonde***
(French Public School Board Trustee)
Nicolas Bigaignon 7
Stefania Sigurdson Forbes 10
Hanane Jaouich 20
Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir
(French Catholic School Board Trustee)
Donald Blais Acclaimed*

In total 15,221 people voted in the 2022 Newmarket Municipal Election, representing 24.8% of eligible voters. 


* A candidate is “acclaimed” or elected by “acclamation”, when there are no other registered candidates running against them in the same office.
** These results represent the votes cast in Newmarket only. The official results will include votes cast in Newmarket, Georgina and East Gwillimbury. 
***  These results represent the votes cast only in Newmarket.  Official results are provided by the City of Vaughan. Visit for more information. 

Official election results will be issued to the media and posted online at as soon as they are certified by the Clerk, on Tuesday, October 25.


Media Contact:
Corporate Communications
Town of Newmarket
Tel.: 905-953-5300 ext. 2040
Scroll to top